Output to Input: Hi, I am Delmar

Poor Delmar's Handbook
4 min readNov 5, 2023

--

Recently, two of my friends told me to practice my English more frequently for my career since my working language is English. Thinking about it, I have realized that my skills in English speaking and English/Chinese writing indeed become worse. Hence, I decided to start writing again in English, which I think also has a side effect of improving my input through output.

There is a funny joke. Most people’s first blog is to teach people how to build a blog. No worries because I am not going to do it haha even though I was a productivity player. The first one introduced in this plan is to introduce myself, simply like when you go to school in the first day.

Hi, friends of this post. My name is Delmar. Enchanté!

Download from the internet

Who am I?

Briefly introduce my personal identity. I come from Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China, where people could swim to Hong Kong illicitly last century. Later on, I studied my bachelor in Guangzhou. There is a saying in China, Eating in Guangzhou. I don’t want to make your mouth water if you are interested in Chinese dishes. One of the craziest thing I have done during that 4 years was that I took an one-hour bus and 10-minute train to a district to have Double-layer Milk Custard. Best life ever!

The clock ticks tock. Before I arrived in Western Europe, I worked in the Internet Technology sector as an event planner mostly. First in live platforms like Youtube Live, then in an online security broker like Robinhood where I was inspired to switch to the finance sector. Therefore, I quit my decent job and risked all my savings to Europe for my master degree in a brand new field. People admired my courage due to my age (well because only a small portion of people continue to study full-time, and people rate it as crazy in China considering after working several years). But no pain no gain. Now I work here, resuming my life without peer pressures, happily. And luckily, I also join in a front desk department of a bank. The reason why I make efforts to increase my English skill is to pursue my beloved career one day in PE/VC or similarities. Making money delights me but the benefit of working in such a field in my opinion is to put the money in where people need.

Looking back my previous life, I was quite lucky, always being helped by great persons. For example, my former boss who walked me into the IT industry treated me to dinner for a week. Haha, sorry for this unexpected example. For sure there are better examples but I don’t want to make this post excessively serious. Oh by the way, my profile was drawn by a designer based one of my pictures. It is cool, isn’t it!

Gratitude brings everybody luck. Helping each other make the planet a better living place, so let’s jump into the next part to see my offers.

What will I do here?

First of all, this section wouldn’t be too long due to the fact that I don’t make a detailed plan because over-planning puts people under too much pressure, leading to giving up halfway.

Well, well, well, my gift box is unwrapped right now!

  1. Anything you are interested in China. I am good at history back to my senior high school and very open-minded to all kinds of questions even if you think it could be offensive (but maybe to me no).
  2. Review of my working experience. For some professionals, this might be very naïve but I am a newbie in this industry and it’s not my frequent work, so I believe it’s better to be noted to help me improve my skills in financial analysis, industry analysis, and economic environment understanding. Therefore, I wish I could still help some people who need.
  3. Experience of productivity apps. From 2017 to 2021, I wrote articles of different apps for a digital media. Of course I am not the top players like those Youtubers but some people were assisted. Likable apps include Notion, Obsidian, Apple Books, and DEVONthink.
  4. Other interesting things to be loaded.

Any movie has an ending. Thank you for listening to my rambling. Your time is super appreciated by me. The next post bumps into my mind is to conclude what I have learnt in my recent financial analyzes of my clients. See you soon, and I bet a rainbow will come your way tomorrow!

--

--

Poor Delmar's Handbook

Work and live in Western Europe. Newbie in a bank. Productivity app player. Salut salut!! Same @delmarshandbook everywhere!